In the past, sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a general perception that earlier sportsmen used to be motivated by the desire for victory or outstanding achievements while modern sports players overlook these core values and prioritize other things, namely stardom and richness. However, this change in motivation engenders a negative impact on the young generation and even the sports itself, which will be expounded on in the following essay.

To commence with, nowadays, many football or basketball stars are receiving high incomes and popularity. Accordingly, they abandon their initial goals and lead an extravagant, unhealthy lifestyle, which in turn weakens their health and senses. Consequently, they start to lose discipline, face failures and reach an end in their careers. Furthermore, some players who are tempted by monetary gains and fame, which overshadows other motivations, will seek illegal ways to win the match such as the use of banned substances, or breweries. All of this will convey the wrong messages to everyone, not only making them believe that professional sports is merely a world running on money and fame but also changing their approach to sports and sport’s former values.

It is evident that the shift in the aim of professional athletes also modifies the structure of the sports industry. Recently, sports leagues have become commercialized with the transfer of players and different forms of advertisements. Meanwhile, companies tend to take advantage of sporting events to successfully popularise and improve their images. For example, the Euro Cup 2021 which took place in Europe was sponsored by the Coca-Cola Company; therefore, during the tournament, ubiquitous advertisements of the company were seen all over the world, raising the company’s stock price in the market. Lastly, many games now are focusing on an individual rather than a whole team, as players are becoming more self-centered and only concentrating on their appearances instead of their performances.

In conclusion, sports have truly become a form of business these days. Sportsmen are given better conditions than in the past, with high incomes and fame. These merits notwithstanding, the core values of sports, regarding healthy competitiveness, discipline, and good desires, are all forgotten. Concerning sports players’ individualism and sports industrialization’s negative effects, the government should be responsible for solving these issues and preserving the elemental values of sports.