In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the current era of globalization, some people believe that students should be encouraged to live and study abroad for the purpose of achieving the high level of academic qualifications as well as learning exotic culture. Nevertheless, others argued that it is unrealistic for all students at college to do. This essay is going to discuss both views of this topic.

There is no denying that studying and living in a foreign country can present a huge influence on ones’ horizons. To put it other words, learners can be given more exposure to this language and get more opportunities to use it. With a good command of a foreign language, students who draw up a plan for overseas training will have an edge in their academic study and career progression. This is due to the fact that students from abroad can have a globalized mindset and get a new perspective of life and the world. With these substantial knowledge, they can outperform in comparison with their colleagues and make the future prosperity.

On the other hand, studying abroad may not be a sanity decision for all students in some cases from an economic perspective. Indeed, considering the high tuition fee as well as living expenditure. Some households, who are not in good financial health, cannot make a more economical arrangement for their children. Besides, students have to deal with some feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry. For example being fearful of the culture shock and language barrier. Therefore, only family can help them in terms of emotional support, whereas the distance obstacle contributes a decline to the process of bonding between family members.

To sum up, both benefits and striking downfalls of study abroad should become key considerations base on financial backgrounds and language abilities. I suggest that students should place as much importance on their horizons relating to language as they do on other subjects.