In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the 21st century, there are many students from developing countries who tend to study in advanced countries. We now have more options regarding how and where to find knowledge. Indeed, most universities across the world now have a good proportion of foreign students enrolled in their programs.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of studying in a different country. Many students choose to study at an excellent university. For instance, graduating from Harvard University will increase their chances of securing a decent position in a company back home or a job in the country where they studied. Students studying abroad also have the opportunity to form friendships with people of various nationalities. Furthermore, living far from their family and friends can enable young people to become more independent.

On the other hand, the experience of studying abroad is not always positive. Research suggests that a small percentage of young people struggle to adapt to their new environment and suffer from severe culture shock. For example, the price difference or the weather difference will directly affect their economy and daily life. Different approaches to teaching and learning may also come as an unwelcome surprise to some students. This may lead to negative effects on learning performance. The situation can become worse if the student is not mature enough to cope by themselves.

To conclude, it is obvious that the study abroad is a good chance for young people to self-developed. If they are presented with this opportunity, they should not miss it.