In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Now they have an opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

More and more graduates prefer to study abroad rather than choose a university in hometown nowadays. This decision significantly affects their lives and can have both positive and negative consequences.

On the one hand, it is believed that moving to a new country, especially with educational purposes, is a great chance to change one’s life. For instance, some students choose places with foreign languages, so by the graduation they have not only a profession but also new skills. Furthermore, studies overseas allow to make a deep glance into others culture. By the same token, young people usually combine studies with social activities, and as for those who travelled abroad such opportunities are much wider. Regarding the new experience, the youth are more likely to make friends, that is a great emotional experience. In addition, travelling on any purpose is a powerful tool of personal growth, and in case of education the positive effect of moving abroad is even stronger.

On the other hand, such students might have the feeling of loneliness and absence of any type of support. They have left their home, family and friends, and it is not so easy sometimes to join new environment. Also, the process of graduation from any university has nothing in common with undergraduate studies. Students already suffer various stressful situations, and the new country is one more distracting factor. According to the whole educational process, they may face a problem of misunderstanding the lectures and special literature if there are blank spaces in their language knowledge. Hence, universities try to provide teens with any necessary information, students still have to deal with some problems concerned with living costs, accommodation or even the laws of the host.

In general, it might seem more complicated to be far from home, though studying abroad is a great experience that broadens the mind, gives new experience and helps in future careers.