The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen

Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are

available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to

reaching the public through advertising.”

The author of this argument states that the problem of fewer people coming this year than previous years to see Super Screen-produced movies lies on lack of public awareness rather than the quality of movies, thus increasing a greater share of budget to advertising will solve the problem. To support this claim, the author cites that there has been an increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers. For several reasons, the evidence provides scant support for the authors claim.

To begin with, the author assumes that cinemas show Super-screen movies at the same rate or time as other movies. Incidentally, it might have happened that cinemas show Super-screen movies only on weekdays and at awkward times such as 12-4pm when people are working. Another case that might happen is that these cinemas show these movies only once in three weeks, which would explain why there are not many people that are attending these movies. Therefore, Super-screen movies simply do not have the chance of being attended by the customers not because of the lack of awareness but because of inconvenient times that they are played. Without considering and ruling out these explanations, the author cannot convince me that there would be an increase in clients with more investment in advertising.

Next, the author fails to consider other possible explanations for the low sales of attendance to Super-Screen production movies. Perhaps because of the high amount of positive reviews the ticket price to see Super-Screen production movies has increased. Therefore, choose to attend other movies simply because they are cheaper and more affordable. Another explanation could be that the only movies that the cinema are playing are the movies that did not get positive reviews. Incidentally, customers do not want to waste their time by watching and paying for it. In any event, the high percentage of positive reviews might have been the driving force of a lack of customers this year compared to other years.

Additionally, in asserting that by increasing advertising it would lead to more customers, the author relies on what might amount to an unfair analogy between the past and current time. A case could be stated that the country is going under recession, with high unemployment rate. Consequently, people do not have extra money to spend on anything other than essential goods. Another case could be stated that there is a pandemic, which states that people could not stay in enclosed and highly populated areas. Since no data has been shown on the amount of people attending other activities, it is presumptuous to think that advertising would solve the obstacles of unemployment and pandemic.

In conclusion, the recommendation is not well supported.To convince me that the proposed restriction would achieve the desired outcome, the author would have to assure me that there the Super-Screen produced movies are played at the same rate as other movies and at convenient times for customers. The author must also provide clear evidence that the ticket price has not increased and movies that received positive reviews are being played. Further information has to be given on the state of the county in order to better evaluate the recommendation.