People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People are often conflicted while discussing the source for their happiness, as some people tend to agree with the fact that happiness lies within the person making the person himself accountable for his joy, while a certain group of people argue that our happiness is a product of various contributing factors in our life. In my opinion, both of these statements stand true, and depend entirely on the grounds upon which they are compared upon. The following writeups zeros in the matter of debate.

People are emotional beings and are often influenced by the surroundings they live in, as a person's perspective of joy hugely depends on how he/she perceives the world. Studies have shown that, a person who grew up in a strict household where competitive nature is fostered tends to find lesser delight in small victories, as the person constantly compares his achievements to people who have come before him. Moreover, it is also true that a person's colleagues and partners have a fair share in their happiness because he who has a supportive environment has someone to share his minor wins, which in-turn makes a person likely to be happier.

On the other hand, a person's perspective and view of life also has a greater impact on their happiness. Some people are by default sadistic in nature and try to keep themselves occupied in their hardships, while others have a nature of always looking at the brighter side. It has been seen, these tendencies in people are mostly included by birth and are one of the defining traits of a person which can not be changed by any influence. Studies have shown, being happy and staying jolly, though involuntary, are often decided by a person subconsciously, which makes a person responsible for the choice of their own happiness.

To sum up, being happy and seeing brighter things in life though highly debated is a person's choice, yet that choice can be influenced by various factors including the people surrounding them. In my opinion, to make someone happy a better mentality and a supportive environment are both the requirements.