People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don't take responsibility to protect the environment. Why is this? What should be done to encourage people to protect the environment?

It is gradually becoming a common knowledge for people in modern society that the environment plays a substantial role in our life. A range of environmental issues such as global warming, climate change has awaken our obligation to take actions to protect the environment. Nevertheless, a large proportion of population are still indifferent. To my opinion, there are two major reasons for this phenomenon and several measures are needed to be taken.

The first reason why people are frequently throwing trash out into environment is that they think their minor activities don't have a great impact on the environment. Their very action can't lead to an instant consequence, as a result individuals just keep doing the wrong things which harm our environment. Secondly, it's largely the government's responsibility to take strict measures to the environmental problems according to the citizens. To most people, environmental issues are somehow so complicated, out of their hand and majestic that they cannot take control of.

In order to modify those mistaken attitudes towards environmental issues, most importantly the government should take proactive measures such as making more public service advertisements to encourage people to consume more green products instead of disposable goods that are harmful to the environment and grant reward for those who have been enthusiastically cleaning up the neighborhood as well.

In conclusion, there are two principal causes for individuals' indifference to the environment as mentioned and actions should be taken immediately to encourage people to protect the environment.