As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction.

With an increase in life expectancy, human cloning has emerged as an important source of spare organs. Many people are terrified by this happening in reality. While I do have few concerns, in my opinion, it is largely a positive development.

Those who are worried by this practice becoming rampant have numerous reasons. To begin with, they consider is highly undignified to manipulate human genes and create a desirable living product in a laboratory. Another worrying aspect of cloning a human is that it is religiously unethical. It is viewed as blasphemous and an attempt to take God's work in human hand.

However, I strongly believe that if we find a way to solve this moral crisis, cloning can prove revolutionary for the survival of human race on this planet. Firstly, it can improve the quality of life for many disabled as well as diseased individuals. For instance, many people have to suffer amputation of foot or lower limb due to infection in diabetics but with human cloning, these limbs can be replaced with healthier ones. Similarly, new organs can be produced for people with disabilities. Secondly, as we know climate change is increasingly making environmental conditions hostile for survival of mankind, we can choose healthier genes to pass on to future generations and clone more-fitting and stronger individuals. Moreover, it can make humans invincible to many pathogens and disease causing organisms.

To sum it up, while human cloning has become a potential reality now, its moral aspects are still controversial. However, I am of the opinion that if grievances of people are addressed carefully, cloning can become a powerful tool to ensure sustainability of a healthier human race on earth.