People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems?

Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns?

There has recently been a phenomenon of people moving to big cities for dwelling, which puts the cities under the pressure of getting overcrowded. It would be followed by a load of problems for city dwellers in any activities that need the efforts of governments and individuals to deal with.

When the cities getting more and more crowded, there would be certain difficulties in meeting the demand of people lives. The very first issue to be mentioned is lack of accommodation. As the cities only take up 2 per cent of land on the earth, affording a house or a flat in such overpopulated cities is a real challenge for many people and could be the root cause of homelessness and poverty. Furthermore, traffic congestion is considered to be a controversial issue in large cities. Take Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam for an example, every day it takes people a lot of time to commute to schools and workplaces in the polluted air of traffic fumes that may trigger health problems. In terms of public infrastructure, the services are sometimes under expectation because of overloaded work.

There are several actions that should be taken to solve the problems mentioned above. First of all, there is a need for governments to have a long-term strategy for widening the cities to the surrounding areas to get more space and offer more accommodation for inhabitants. The second measure would be to develop public transport and upgrade public facilities to encourage people to reduce private vehicles use and offer more satisfied services. City dwellers could contribute to decreasing the stress of urban life by such a simple way like commuting by public transport instead of private cars and motorbikes.

In conclusion, urban life would be much easier and more liveable with the effort and cooperation of governments and individuals.