Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only the governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environment has a significant impact on human lives and the issue of the environment getting worse and worse causes lots of concerns and argument in modern society. Some people argue that upgrading the environment is the responsibility of governments and large firms except for the individuals. From my perspective, governments and big corporations are under the burden of improving the environment and need the collaboration of the whole society.

On the one hand, governments and corporations are the first to be in charge of making the environment better. Firstly, governments holding the highest power can enable the positives on the environment to be conducted. For example, governments bring about the policies and carry on the projects to protect the environment. Secondly, large companies have the financial advantage that can help in some ways such as investing in environmental researches and campaigns. Therefore, the environment would get better with the acts of governments and firms.

On the other hand, everything seems to be useless without the cooperation of individuals. It is essential for people to have a contribution in preserving the environment through such small things like keeping the surroundings clean, reducing waste and planting trees for instance. Furthermore, whether the policies, projects, and campaigns are successful or not depends much on the reactions of publicity. The effect on the environment would be better and greater with the hands of individuals and society altogether.

In conclusion, protecting and improving the environment is the responsibility of every individual in companion with the effort of governments and companies.