People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

There is a growing concern about the deterioration in family relations in a host of nations. This essay attempts to shed light on some driving factors behind this negative tendency before clarifying several detrimental impacts to individuals and the whole community.

On the one hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why citizens in this day and age use less of their treasured time with family members. The key rationale is that busy schedules deprive the hours of the family. To illustrate, these corporations require the employee's protracted working time to finish the deadlines on time, which acts as a double-edged sword to the lack of family time. Another justification is due to technology overuse, significantly more people, especially the young generation, are becoming overly addicted to digital devices. This perception could be further clarified by the fact that younger prefer to spend time texting to their friends via social media such as Facebook or Instagram rather than engage in conversation with their parents.

These aforementioned reasons have left scores of undesirable influences on this trend. First and foremost, the more widen the emotional gap, the more weaken the bond among family members. If parents spend more time working and less time bonding with as well as relating to their children, they are very likely to be negatively affected by toxic influences from bad friends or their media consumption. Furthermore, insufficient time for family does have an adverse implication for the family. To be more clarified, this trend could be seen as a precursor to weakening family relationships, leading to some conflicts or family problems, such as parents arguing, domestic violence, or divorce in the worst- cases scenario.

In conclusion, there are several underlying motives behind the increasingly less quality of family time and it makes a way for a myriad of serious repercussions among family members and society as well.