People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons and effects of this?

In recent decades, the deterioration of family time has captured significant public attention due to its implication on family relationships. My essay will shed light on the reasons for this pattern before outlining a number of its influences.

Members spending less time with their families can be ascribed to a host of factors. First, because of an increase in the cost of living, parents become more career-oriented in order to cover these living expenses. Therefore, parents spend more hours at work and make less time for family, especially for their offspring. Second, children have a tendency to immerse themself more in social media thanks to the proliferation of technical advancement. It means that they would like to engage more in online conversations with friends than in real-life conversations with their family.

I would contend that the growing trend toward the decline of family time is going to have serious repercussions on family bonding. To begin with, when family members communicate less with each other, mutual understanding is likely to decrease. Hence, there could be more domestic conflicts and arguments, leading to a generation gap. Moreover, without parental close supervision, teenagers could be lured into social problems. To illustrate, parents spending less time at home leaves teenagers more likely to be vulnerable to negative influences from bad friends and adopt harmful habits such as smoking.

In conclusion, hectic work schedules and the excessive amount of time on social networking sites are two driving factors behind insufficient time for family. I believe that this trend exerts negative impacts on family connections and children’s development.