People in many countries have to spend more and more time away from their home. Why is this? What are the effects on people themselves and their families?

In many parts of the world, people tend to spend more time away from home. There are some reasons why this trend happens, and this tendency has adverse impacts on individuals and their families.

To begin with, there are some factors that influence many people to be away from their home for long periods of time. Firstly, since the inevitable consequence of the new global economy is the disappearance of traditional ways of life, people now have to seek far and wide to find job to support their family or to improve their career prospects. For example, globalization allows many people go to another country to work and study, they live far away from their families and are able to return to their home country only once or twice a year. Secondly, in search for a better standard of living, many women are abandoning traditional patterns of behavior to pursue a successful career, so that dual-income families and working mothers are becoming the norm. The families in which the mother stayed at home to look after their children is incompatible with the modern life, working mothers now spend more time to pursue a successful career instead.

However, this tendency might bring about some negative effects on both individuals and their family. The first impact is that people who move away to work in another country often become economic migrants, laboring for a minimum wage or being forced to accept conditions of sweated labor. This can negative affect their physical health. The second impact is that the bonds between family members might be weakened. Women who go out to work full-time have less influence in shaping their children's personalities during a child's formative years. As a result, children may spend more time to be exposed to digital devices such as smart phone and television, and children may adopt unhealthy habits and improper behavior without being supervised.

In conclusion, people have to spend more time away from their home because of some reasons, and this tendency can result in some negative impacts on people themselves and their families.