People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In recent years, individuals sleeping hours have been less than ever. This essay will firstly, discuss the prominent causes of this epidemic and secondly, describe the possible corollaries of it.

In my opinion, the foremost purposes of the short-hours sleeping problem are an inactive lifestyle in addition to improper use of smartphones. Today more and more people are used to drinking a lot of coffee and fizzy drinks, especially during the night which contain a chemical substance called caffeine that causes sleeping issues like insomnia. Additionally, recently humans have been using their cell phones before sleeping which makes them spend plenty of time on social media and other apps without even noticing how many hours they spend on their phones therefore they end up sleeping late hours at night.

The feasible consequences of this dilemma include mental health troubles along with loss of productivity. First of all, not getting enough sleep could result in incorrect functioning of the human brain and contribute to the risk of developing some serious illnesses for instance, as several sleeping hours decrease the possibility of having psychological diseases like anxiety disorder and depression increases. Secondly, less sleeping periods people are more likely to suffer from stress and tiredness and unfortunately, this diminishes their performance. For example, it has been proven that men and women who don't have sufficient sleep need to put more effort into completing some tasks compared with adequate sleep people.

In conclusion, everyone should take it seriously when they want to sleep and make sure to sleep well by avoiding any drink that contains caffeine at night in addition, avoid using their mobiles before sleeping to ensure they will be active and healthy during their day.