People nowadays tend to take their family to another country when they work abroad. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, people have a tendency to take their families with them when they have to work overseas. When I accept that bringing family abroad may have some drawbacks, I am of the opinion that the benefits are greater.

On the one hand, living abroad can be highly beneficial for several reasons. One of the key advantages is that members in the family can get access to better education and higher standard of living. As long as the spouse has a chance to work in a high quality workplace with a high paying wage, other members can gain a better environment to develop, legal protection and fairness in numerous aspects. For instance, many families are moving from developing countries to developed countries for their betterment of life standard. Another advantage is that governments in many developed countries such as America, Australia, etc have launched many appropriate policies in terms of safety to ensure that migrants can adapt to new environments

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of moving to a new country pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Foremost among these is the potential for losing cultural and traditional values. This is because they follow the host country’s cultural norms in their daily lives which makes them away from their origin countries’ values. A recent study by Cambridge university found that nearly 40% of children who moved to another country due to their parents’ work has lost their own countries’ traditions. The second drawback that should be taken into consideration is culture shock. Members in the family may have to experience culture shock when they move to a country where the culture is very different from the culture they got used to. Consequently, it can lead to several problematic issues such as homesickness, irritation, etc and also put more weight on the negative side of their lives.

In conclusion, despite several drawbacks that bringing family abroad has, it seems to me that they are far outweighed by the benefits.