People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although shopping has been becoming prevalent, shopping habits seem to be different and various among almost all citizens. I absolutely disagree with the point that the age group is the most influential factor that causes distinguished shopping habits, which, from my perspective, are affected more by financial problems and where a person lives.

Diverse shopping habits are attributed most to individual financial condition. It is clear that affluent people tend to spend money on overpriced and luxurious products when going shopping, while these seem to be unaffordable for ordinary people. Moreover, as a result of the household budget, shopping frequency is also different between the rich and the poor. Wealthy citizens spend a huge amount of time going to enormous shopping malls, whereas it only takes normally a little time for the poor to buy groceries in small markets on a daily basis.

Geographical location is also one of the most significant factors forming a person’s shopping habit. The higher expenditure on shopping in big cities than in towns originates from the higher number of commercial places in cities. In addition, people living in towns can provide themselves with food by planting and breeding so they only go shopping to buy other products such as clothes, groceries and equipment, which are unnecessary to buy daily. As a result, inhabitants in cities have a tendency to go shopping more frequently than those in the countryside.

In summary, the age group seems to be less influential in comparison with budget and location in deciding an individual’s shopping habit.