People say that it is a waste of time for highschool students to learn literature such as novels and poems Do you agree or disagree

The rapid movement of society has affected many aspects of education. Due to the significant necessity of logical subjects, many people suggest that teaching highschool students literature such as novels and poems is a waste of time. Personally, I disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, literature plays an important part in developing the artistic intelligence in each student, exposing them to the beauty of the surrounding life. It is undeniable that literature represents a different section of life compared to logic-based subjects such as Mathematics or Physics. Moreover, novels and poems being learned in literature are considered important as they help to stimulate the artistic characteristic in learners, help them to discover beautiful parts of life. This not only helps students to be more sympathetic toward others but also boosts their creativity. Secondly, they are also needed in terms of teaching students the right way to write good sentences, paragraphs or even essays. Although many novels as well as poems are considered a contradiction to realistics and may bore students, these works are useful in showing them the charmer of words, lexical and grammar as exemplify undergraduates how to write comprehensively. This skill may seem inessential, however, once these high schoolers entered college, they will find out that good literature basement offers them higher scores criteria.

On the other hand, novels and poems, as well as other forms of art taught in liberial classes can provide children with a wide range of knowledge about history. Instead of learning about historical occasions and ceremonies in blase books, they can now acquire the same amount of information about their ancestors through fictional stories that have a historic background. For example, Les Misérable, a classic novel that is known as one the greatest of all time, is both a great novel and a vivid story teller who is in charge of showing us the real life in France in the 18th century. Furthermore, they acknowledge students about geology as well. Many authors invest most of their life travelling and write their own stories in their books. This also means that by reading these works, we can know more about new places and destinations. Therefore, it is not an understatement when literature is seen as one of the compulsory subjects in schools.

To sum up, learning about novels and poems holds an important place in developing the students’ sympathy and enlightening them to more knowledge that can not be studied in Science or Mathematics. Hence, learning this in high schools is needed and can not be contemplated as a waste of time.