Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument To what extent do you agree or disagree

The outbreak of modern teaching methods allow students to access more subjects apart from their compulsory subjects such as Mathematics or Literature. It is also encouraged by educationalists that parents should let their children learn about instruments and how to play them. Personally, I think the advantages of this are undeniable.

It is inevitable that playing musical instruments can boost their creativity and cognitive ability. Firstly, it is proved that while playing piano, children can widen their creative zones as the rhythms, tempos and ranges of noises coming from the keyboard can constantly stimulate said zones of the kids brain. Children who play piano or guitar as a subject are also claimed to be more sensitive with the surrounding environment, hence promoting their artistic instinct. Moreover, playing complicated musical devices such as piano and cellos also help children to level up their cognitive skills. As playing these acquire them to master the auditory, reading and kinesthetic abilities at once, they tend to perform better in terms of utilizing different body parts at the same time. Therefore, it is ideal that kids should be introduced to musical devices early in their life.

Secondly, instead of immersing themselves in violent computer games, children now can exaggerate their pent-up tensions or pressures by playing musical instruments. Rather than consider it as a professional, students who are strained out by overloaded school work can enjoy those instruments as a self-relieving method. Listening to harmonizing melodies and letting their mind calm down a bit after long hours staring at green screens is surprisingly an effective way to strengthen their emotional health as well. In other words, this will allow them to avoid indulgent lifestyles and help form a better connection with expressing their emotion in healthy manners even under cruel situations, lessen the negative feelings and unnecessary insecurities.

To sum up, musical instruments can be a means for children to develop themselves more, both logically and emotionally. Thus, parents should pay more attention to these aspects of a child's education rather than only focus on the kid’ academic performances.