People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are two perspectives that choosing the course of study for students is based on the basis of their interests or the kinds of job they can get. While the thinking that depending on occupations they can apply is valid to a certain extent, it is my belief that relying on the interests is more suitable.

There is a reason people should choose the course of study on the kinds of job they can get. In fact, students tend to choose majors that can help them obtain a high-paying job in the future. This is because, they do not have an obvious orientation to choose a career path, and also mainly follow the consultation of other people such as parents or teachers. For example, nowadays with the advancement of technology, many students are enrolling in information technology courses at universities, while they do not know whether they are good at coding and computing or not. In addition to this, this major is quite difficult to learn and digest. Even though people will be paid a high salary when becoming a programmer, it requires them to have high levels of expertise and to handle a heavy workload while working.

Despite the about argument, I firmly believe that people should choose their career path on the basis of their own interest. It must be recognized that people's passions play a crucial role in what they choose. Spending everyone's whole life on a favorite job can help boost their motivation and inspiration, even though they only receive meager income. However, if they know how to utilize their passion and strive to pursue their career in what they choose, nothing will be impossible. Moreover, it is easier to orient occupations in the future when you are interested in a certain field. For example, if you are good at art and designing, becoming a designer or an architect is the most suitable to make the most of your drawing ability.

In conclusion, while it is true to some extent that people should their course of study that is based on the kinds of job they can get, I would maintain that it is more suitable when choosing on the basis of their interests.