People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals?

Nowadays, more and more individuals have shorter sleep duration compared to the past. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both individuals and on the community as a whole.

There are two important reasons why more people nowadays are spending less time sleeping. Firstly, rather than getting a good night’s rest, many individuals consider that building their own successful careers is top-priority. If they had to split their time between working and sleeping when they were in the early stages of their careers, their performance at work and promotion prospects could be negatively affected. Therefore, they take almost a day to plunge headlong into work regardless of day and night. Secondly, these days there are numerous kinds of entertainment that are much more appealing to them than sleeping such as overnight parties with friends, chatting with strange people through the night,... or simply surfing newsfeed on social media.

However, this tendency could have negative consequences in terms of both individual life and society. Sleep deprivation causes a wide range of health problems. First and foremost, people who have poor sleep habits would be impaired brain function which leads to gradually decreasing concentration and productivity. If this situation lasts long, the distortion of sleep will occur followed by a series of chronic health conditions. Besides, individuals who sleep less than 8 hours a night have a greater risk of heart disease. Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the future workforce.

In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why more and more people sleep less at night. As a result, there could be negative influences on individuals and the society at large.