People think that countries should produce the food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that countries had better concentrate on producing food to meet the demand of their citizens rather than importing from others. However, I tend to hold the conflicting view towards this statement.

First, many countries around the world may face difficulties in maintaining the amount of food for their population by themselves. Severe weather conditions such as droughts or floods cause serious environmental degradations that make agriculture of those countries hardly develop to produce enough food. For example, many African nations have to suffer from the shortage of water as well as arid soil almost during the whole year, therefore, they may have a lot of disadvantages in producing food. Besides, lack of advanced technology also poses a problem for countries to develop their agriculture and other industries. Without the help of modern machines, they could not improve their productivity and also the quality of their products.

Secondly, many individuals prefer using imported products than domestic goods. Sometimes the price of products from abroad is cheaper than the ones produced in their countries and that benefits a lot for poorer people. Furthermore, products from developing countries such as Japan or the United States are regarded as having high quality, so they could meet the requirement of many individuals. Goods are different from one country to another, so various kinds of products are needed to ensure customers have a wide range of choices for themselves.

In conclusion, I believe that countries should not limit importing goods from others because it may cause disadvantages for their economy as well as affect the demand of their population.