Some people think that countries should produce food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that self-food production and independent of food imports are the activities to ensure national food security. While the benefits of this are irrefutable, I would contend that it might be impractical in many nations.

It is understandable why some people acknowledge that producing food their residents eat and importing less food are the foremost methods that each country had to do to enhance food security. Regarding the former, one rationale for this belief probably is that there is a strong correlation between unemployment rate and self-food production. Doing that will lead to an increase in agriculture-related jobs, thereby possibly curbing the unemployment rate. This can be seen in the rural area of VietNam where the agricultural sector has helped to ensure year-round production, created thousands of jobs for the locals, and prevented jobless periods. Furthermore, importing less food also has a favorable impact on the environment. This is due to the fact that this activity could help to reduce food miles, hence saving fossil fuels and also lower levels of air pollutants released from food transportation.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, producing food domestically is not feasible in many countries. This can be seen in case of some nations where its natural habitat makes it hard to produce enough food for their citizens. This can be evidenced by Japan, whose infertile soil and hostile climate are not suitable for agricultural practice. Another notable example can be seen in Angola, where food security is a major issue for a long time because of prolonged droughts. In such countries, importing food is the only way to ensure their national food security.

In conclusion, although reducing the food importing rate and increasing self production have many social and environmental benefits, it is not impractical for some countries where natural conditions afford people little choice. For this case, importing food is a must.