People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is believed that the authorities should rise the price of fuel for automobiles and other transportations as a measure to tackle environmental issue. As far as i am concerned, I do not agree with the statement.

On the one hand, this action can be done due to some reasons. One of the main point is that it can help to limit the consumption of petrol, which takes a considerable role in the total emissions on the world. Since car is a common vehicle that people all around the world use daily, an infinite amount of fume will be exhausted from it, causing an air pollution and greenhouse problem. Therefore, by rising the fuel price, less people will use combustion engine and tend to buy a more environmental-friendly version such as electric transportations.

However, there are several reasons why i totally disagree with the idea. First of all, not all people can afford electric vehicle or even high-cost petrol, especially impoverished ones. In some developing countries, the most usual transport is motorbike, which is also an combustion engine and releases a significant amount of dirt and fume. Despite the drawback, many people use it because of its economical price. Another reasons to support my opinion is that the government can encourage civilians to follow the rule such as avoiding littering and saving energy as to protect the environment. If they disobey, the government can order them to pay a fine.

In conclusion, although it is widely thought that the cost of fuel should be increased in order to maintain the environment, I still disagree with this idea.