People think that the government should increase the cost cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

Opinion diverges whether it will be advantageous if the government nudges the cost of fuel for combustion engine vehicles to solve the environmental problems. Conversely, in my opinion, there are drawbacks that possibly cast the benefits if the argument is approved.

People argue that by increasing the cost for fuels, the environment will eventually be aided by the plunge of vehicles like car usage. The primary reason behind this is the high dependence of many industries like construction, hospitality and logistics on transportation services. Hence, the amount of carbon dioxide, which causes global warming as well as harms the human respiratory system, released by combustion engines will dip. Moreover, the personal car consumption is expected to fall off a cliff as the increased overhead cost can be overwhelming to them. Consequently, people can earn the habit of transitioning via public transportation, which is highly encouraged by many nations as a key driver to solve the environmental problems.

However, I oppose this proposal as its damage on facets of the society is outstanding compared to the benefits. Globalization, which creates high needs on transportation, has merged and become a must-have characteristic for countries, and companies to flourish. When the government nudges the fuel price, misery will come true to companies involved in shipping operations who are already bearing accumulative burdens in tariffs. Eventually, these companies will be forced to raise their service charges and people’s lives will be hit hard. For instance, when the higher expenses for a logistics chain of coffee beans in Vietnam is, the higher consumers have to pay in the purchasing section. As long as the price of products goes up, people will have to cut more slices of their remuneration to suffice the cost.

Moreover, many developing countries do not have public transportation services, so they will have no other choice but to bear the increasingly growing cost. Henceforth, their periodical bills will rise, resulting in more considerations for daily products like food or water. In some cases, these citizens have to choose the packed or processed meals, which are cheaper, to suffice the expense. By keeping this diet in the long term, these people will suffer from serious diseases like obesity, diabete.

To be concluded, though the increase in the cost of fuel can aid the environment’s betterment by lowering car usage and encouraging public transportation, it is entirely overshadowed by inevitable drawbacks on companies as well as citizen’s lives.