People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

People have differing views with regard to tackling issues about the environment by raising the price of fossil fuel used by cars and other vehicles. While I accept that the aforementioned solution brings several certain benefits, I still believe that there are a variety of other measures which are more effective.

By increasing the fuel’s cost, lots of environmental challenges can be resolved. To commence with, this strategy can help reduce the influx of traffic that is because people tend to use public transports or carpool and share riding. As a result, the carbon dioxide may go down and have a positive impact on the international efforts in tackling Greenhouse effects. In addition, if fossil fuel can be reduced, our natural resources can be prevented from depleting. It would minimize habitat destruction and tackle the pollution that stems from the activities of the fossil fuel extractive industries.

On the other hand, alongside such solutions, the government can take some action to solve the environmental problems in the long term. Initially, the government can provide free buses and train passes that can also encourage people to switch from private vehicles to more sustainable options. Consequently, the overall vehicle emission can be reduced and that can enhance the quality of the atmosphere. Moreover, electric vehicles should be promoted to citizens which use environmentally friendly resources. This can be added to the effort of keeping our surroundings from deteriorating.

In conclusion, although the rise of petrol price would be a helpful environmentally-friendly transport measure, the government should impose some other solutions that would be more effective in the long term.