People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that ancient constructs should be torn down and build new buildings. I completely agree with that it is necessary of replacing old buildings with new ones.

There are several reasons why some people would be opponents of constructing new buildings. Firstly, the real living volume might be fewer after rebuilding. An example is that, in Taiwan, public utilities of one neighborhood are also counted in the area that you own in legal aspect. Secondly, the process of rebuilding takes plenty of time, so the majority usually tend to have less willingness for it, though the government will subsidize them in the period when they go to rent houses. Finally, the internal decoration is good enough for most owners of old constructs because of they had already redecorated their home, which would make those people feel careless about the external appearance of buildings.

On the other hand, some safety problems could be the most vital issue why old buildings should be wrecked. For instance, former electronic panels need to be renewed as a result of the risk of fire of them. In addition, water pipes also should be change with new ones due to old pipes that might cause to health problem. Furthermore, there is an inconvenience of living in old apartments for the elderly. Most of old apartments have no elevators and if someone who is physically-challenged or is a senior, which would lead to a difficulty for them.

In conclusion, I do believe that there is a necessity for building new constructs to replace old ones.