People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the preservation of old facilities has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that old buildings should be replaced with new buildings, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the removal of old amenities. Perhaps the principal advantage is that protecting and managing old buildings place a heavy burden on citizens in general. To provide a hypothetical example, If it were not for old facilities, the government could save a huge amount of money considering that vast sums of public funds are needed to maintain obsolete buildings. Another benefit is that constructing new facilities creates a large number of employment opportunities given that a huge number of employees are required in the building industry. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the replacement of obsolete facilities to modern buildings.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that changing old buildings to new buildings should be required. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a myriad of outdated buildings are useful to educate pupils. To be more specific, allowing teenagers to visit traditional attractions help them to reap a myriad of invaluable lessons and even feel a sense of belonging to our society. In addition, keeping old buildings can lead to a boom in tourism given that numerous historical attractions can attract travellers, which makes it possible not only for people who are engaged in the tourism industry to live a better life but also for cities to invigorate economic growth. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.