The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Within recent years, children are becoming fatter, especially in western countries. In this essay, I would point out the causes of the problem and what it has effected us.

There were not so much overweight children in the past because of some reasons. First of all, mordern kids are served with a wide range of fast food, which is undoubtedly not good for health. Fast food contains lots of fat but lacks of nutritions and vitamins which are necessary for the development of a child. In addition, children nowadays do not have as much outdoor activities as their parents did. They often play games, surf the internet rather than take up a sport. Moreover, stress and depression also lead to people eating too much, thus becoming overweight.

Overweight is an annoying problem for modern society as it has serious impact on children's health as well as affects social welfare. There is no doubt that children who are too fat have to face up with health problems such as heart attack or diabetes. The increasing number of overweight patients result in hospitals' overload. Therefore, national budget would be used to build more hospital as well as buy necessary facilities. This means government can no longer use that money for helping the disabled or improving the environment.

To sum up. overweight children is a disturbing trend in developed countries, which affects not just individual but the whole community as well. Family and government must take measures to tackle this problem.