A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Twentieth century has seen rapid advancements in every sphere of Science and Technology. The technological advancements have entailed the massive improvement in the production of every product, both for the necessity and luxury, including industrial and high tech. For instance, in the older ages, people used to wear the crude home-made clothes and shoe. But now, conversely, let alone speak of clothes and shoes, every item of usage is optimized for the best utilization. Although, today’s items are, very, durable, well-refined, convenient, marvelous, stylish and elegant, compared to the old-fashioned home-made products of the old ages, yet these resulted in the human beings’ increased dependency on the industrial products and the morally deceptive ideas fostered by them. Due to the commercial commodities increased and arguable unnecessary usage, Humans feel cocooned in this modern technological era, so much so that they are feel forced to consume, the high-tech appliances, even for whatever, be it very harmful for mental health and moral values. For instance, mobile phone is used for unnecessary and heinous apps, which, although, dispenses a sense of temporary joy, but ultimately results in various forms of moral compromises.

This dense and invisible net of enchantment and vulgar addictions gradually clouded human beings’ already held yardsticks for measuring one’s worth (which was through character). Hence, Todays’ world views and places the great people in terms of how much financial worth do they have. This is because of our paradigm shift from the pristinely positive values of honor, kindness and trust to the apparently inflated balloons of luxuries.

Additionally, the industrialization brought the gimmick of capitalization. The Capitalization is a deception, which, according to Carl Marx, tricks people into thinking that they are improving their conditions, however, instead they are just the mere tool in the entire machinery of the Capitalism. They are just improving and paving the way for the capitalism to propagate and thrive. This Capitalism lures them, through the glamours of industrializations and marketing (job prospects, entrepreneurships and ultimate benefits), whereby people are forced to believe that, now, being a capitalist is the biggest of all virtues.

The dangerously high dependency on the capitalism based thinking and industrial and high-tech products have forced us, in a fear to not lose their developments gained through the Capitalism, to change our standard for measuring one’s worth.