It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

I believe in the first sentence of the statement to be true. There are people born with an extra-ordinary physique or mental skills, which make them excel in the relevant field of application of those skills, much further than anyone, without the relevant skills. For instance, the famous swimmer and sixteen times Olympic Gold medalist, Michael Phelps, has an extraordinary body build up, including stretch of his arm, his hand’s catch and his feet’s spread, which are the important factors, contributing to his extraordinary swimming speed.

However, in the second sentence of the statement, we must define good to make it precise. Let’s define it, as so, well learnt in a skill, which lasts life-long. For instance, we may become good at football, as child, but as professional, we may choose to become a manager or an engineer.

Researchers in child care and growth field of the UNESCO, the UN, stress that the childhood is the fastest and the strongest learning stage in the human life. Whatever language, music and sport, learnt in this stage, last lifelong. For example, in many European countries, every child, during schooling, is taught swimming. Not most children have talent for swimming, but still remember it well, and are good at it. Because, apart from talent, there are various other qualities such as hard work, focus, passion, dedication, which must be practiced in different ranges, for becoming excellent at something. In the new definition, the second statement also holds water.