Personal statment

I have always been interested in mental health and this subject is very close to my heart. Since childhood I was surrounded by people, who were struggling with their mental health and required support. It includes my mother, who battled alcoholism and depression, my childhood best friend, who tried to commit suicide on multiple occasions and my ex-partner, who suffered with severe anxiety. I had a lot of emphaty for them and tried to help them. Unfortunately, in post communist Poland, mental health services where pretty much non existent, so I was forced to self-educate in the subject and it became my interest.

I would like to become a Mental Health Nurse as I want to help people, simple as that. We are facing mental health crisis, deepened by Covid-19 pandemic and yet mental health is still surrounded by stigma. I strongly believe we need more people training in the role of Mental Health Nurse and I want to be one of them.

I am trained Occupational Therapist, received my title after completing vocational study. One of the settings I trained at was Psychiatric Hospital in Stronie Slaskie in Poland, Acute Inpatient Ward. I had a chance to work with men in crisis, who often were dangerous to self or others. I took part in doctor's rounds, assisted with medications, had to help restraint person. My main duty was to organize meaningful free time, usually in the form of art, play and music therapy, eaither as a group or individual session. I also took part in sessions aimed at developing coping mechanisms and skills. As a result I would spend many hours daily interacting with people with acute mental illness, mostly schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. I really enjoyed it and wanted to become a permanent member of the team. Unfortunately, at this time, Psychiatric Hospitals in Poland faced big financial cuts and additional services, like occupational therapy, became pretty much non existent.

During my vocational training as an Occupational Therapis I worked with people from different backgrounds and of different ages. I worked with children with learning disabilities, adults with chronic illness, people hospitalised. It gave me a chance to learn to be flexible in my approach and adaptable. What helped me perform well was my emphaty and genuine interest in another person. I found that people were more open towards me what made it easier to plan the therapy.

I also studied Resocialization Pedagogy. I especially enjoyed Psychology and Psychiatry modules as well as Child Development. I was lucky to get a placement in Young Offenders Institution in Swidnica, Poland. It was very challenging yet rewarding experience. I had a chance to observe therapy sessions as many of the offenders suffered with mental health or adaptation issues. I was trained in observation technics, methods of resocialization, record keeping.

I am originally from Poland, my husband is Gambian. I believe it makes me more diverse candidate as I have better insight into barriers in accessing mental health services for people of different backgrounds and religions.

I am hardworking and reliable person. I enjoy new challenges and thinking on my feet. My main strengths are organization skills and perceptiveness. I have positive mental attitude. I enjoy helping people, getting to know them, I am a good listener. I am applying as a mature student, mother of two children, which makes me really motivated to succeed. I strongly believe this attributes make me a very good candidate for role of a Mental Health Nurse and it would be a great achievement to be able to study for the degree at Keele University.