Poor nutrition and obesity are a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the availability of fast food. This phenomenon unfortunately leads to malnourishment and obesity, especially in developed countries. To tackle this problem, a commonly held is that government should impose a tax on fast food. Personally, I completely agree with this idea since the tax could reduce fast food consumption and stop the widespread of fast food business.

It seems a fair suggestion that a tax on fast food would reduce the excessive consumption of fast food. These days, this kind of food is convenient and affordable to almost everyone, ranging from the low-income people to the high-income ones. Thus, the tax might encourage people to think twice before choosing an expensive fast food comparing to an economical home-cooked meal. Gradually, this approach could change the eating habits among people, from unbalanced diet into a healthier and more nourishing one. As a result, the chances of having serious health problem such as obesity, diabetes and heart diseases are more likely to decrease.

A general assertion is that the tax also affects the supple chain of fast food in such a way that stops the widespread of fast food business. While the government aims to reduce the fast food intake among citizens, they also lessen the availability of fast food as less businessmen are willing to pour money into fast food stores with decreasing consumption. Moreover, once those businessmen realize the restricting trend towards fast food, they might change their business strategies related to healthy eating to maximize profits.

Excessive consumption of fast food is a serious problem and government need to do something about it. Putting a tax on fast food is a comprehensive solution to the problem, for it affects significantly on not only the consumers but also the suppliers of fast food.