Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Health problems caused by the excessive consumption of fast food become a typical sign of deteriorating public health all over the world. According to some people, it is important to impose a high tax on junk food to discourage people from eating such food. In my opinion, it should be combined with other drastic solutions to mitigate consequences.

There is no doubt that a tax on fast food would reduce the number of people who intake regularly high fat, high salt processed food. Many people incline to buy this type of food as it is cheap and toothsome. To illustrate, if supermarkets and cafes had to include tax the benefit of the low price would be less.

However, other alternative methods should be taken into consideration. Adding tax to fast food would work much better if governments also implement some measures to alleviate the cost of fruit, vegetables and healthy foods. They could create some laws to ensure that healthier food is almost always the cheapest options and people could buy them easily whatever their social level. Of course it may be difficult for farmers who could lose income to make ends meet. But it would be better for the health of nations. In other word, offering education at school enables to children to learn how to cook at home and to broaden knowledge belong to healthy food. Many people buy ready-made meals and take away because they are not confident in their cooking. If they learn to do this better they may choose healthier meals.

In conclusion, while a higher tax seems to reduce a slightly purchasing, I believe people who well-educated on healthy life is likely to decline the health problems