Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

Recently, the government tends to splash out on art facilities. Some people believe that public services such as education, medical treatment are imperative problem. In my view, the budget should be distributed more effectively for better living standard and the arts as well.

I am convinced the art is becoming a crucial part of a modern society. Firstly, it reflects traditional culture of many countries. To illustrate, in Vietnam, there is a range of songs, pictures, sculptures and poem related to glorious history that arouse people’s awareness about patriotism. Painting or singing are also subjects in school that help children broaden their horizon and even seek for their talent. In other word, cultural and creative art related to careers necessarily boost the economy, in particular in developing countries demanding on the public purse. For instance, National Museum of Rome attracts millions of tourists each year due to its magnificence and masterpiece.

Otherwise, government’s budget should make best use of enhancing the quality of life for society . First and foremost, public services are the things such as hospitals, roads and schools, and these determine the quality of life that most of us will have. For example, if the government does not spend enough money on hospitals, the public health may decline. Similarly, if not enough money is spent on schools, our children may not be properly educated. The poor who rely on these services will be affected as well if the government does not allocate enough budgets on such things.

To conclude, while i do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this too provides important merits, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment in public services as these influences the quality of life for nearly all of us.