Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that sports events, such as Olympic Games, could lose tensions between countries and show nationalism in a proper way. However, I completely disagree with the statement and my reasons are below.

Firstly, I believe that competition would make the countries' relationship become worse. In the international sports event, the participating team is classified by countries. It means that the ranking is based on country team, which may influence some audience’s emotion, especially when his nationality loses the game. For example, some aggressive sports fans may fight the opponents when he finds out that his support team do not win the game. In some cases, they may even attempt to blacken winner country for finding any cheat in the competition. This situation would definitely let the countries harmony become worse.

Furthermore, international relation should cope with governments rather than entertainment events. To explain it further, most of the sports events continue less than one month, in this short period people may get together and celebrate for their support team. However, by the time the race is over, people will soon return to their normal life, and the patriotic emotions that have appeared during the game will soon disappear. Thus, the efficient method to ease international tension and release patriotic emotions should be encouraged by country policy. Using popular events to

achieve harmony is not the long-term method.

In conclusion, as international competition may let people become aggressive and the patriotic that released during events time only results in a short period, I completely disagree with the given statement.