Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people claim that sporting events such as the World Cup, the Olympics have a major impact on international relations and national unity. Personally, I strongly agree with this view. This essay will address some reasons for my view as follows.

It is true that sporting events help to ease international tensions. As an example, South Korea and North Korea were given a tremendous opportunity to reach a mutual understanding and respect due to various friendly football matches. It came as a big surprise to South Korea when North Korea spectators were rooting with enthusiasm. Through sports, two divided nations could cement their relationship in the hope of further cooperation in economics and politics in the near future.

On the other hand, some sports matches can greatly deteriorate relations. For instance, football and baseball games are two of the main drivers that lead to a severe relationship between Korea and Japan. the two rivals sometimes express their patriotism in an aggressive way. An even much worse scenario is that there's rising invisible discrimination between the two countries directly aiming at the players.

For the reasons mentioned above, I would support that international sporting occasions play a crucial role in easing tensions and releasing patriotism safely between different nations. However, I also believe that a combination of solidarity, absolute respect holds an enormous significance to long-lasting peaceful relations.