Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is certainly that the globalized world brings us problems on damaging the our own national identities. Due to the fast pace of the today’s world, to some degree I do believe that there are some cultures and self-identities that have lost in these days.

For some people who may think that it is not a big deal or even consider that it would be better if we only have one culture in this world. With this, my guess is because of the racist inequality, one culture could probably reduce some of these problems in the future. For example, there are still a lot of immigrant families who experience some unfair treatments because of their identities. And also, some stereotypes like Asian parents are strict to their children and people from Africa are mostly suffering from poverty. This point of view can be reasonable why some people think this way, which I understand.

However, maintaining our identity is also quite important to us. Since we can learn history from our background and know ourselves better by recognizing our identity. Some people nowadays, especially those who born overseas, may had no opportunity to learn about where their ancestors originally from and what their cultures are all about. For instance, in Taiwan some of my friends whose families immigrated from south Asian countries have lost their ability to speak the languages which their relatives can speak fluently. Few of them even show indifference to learn their cultures, which I think it’s not their responsibility but it is definitely a pity.

To conclude, although some people think there is a good reason on having one culture only, I still think that to maintain our identities are way more important. We should see these difference with more open-mind view in this globalized world.