The positive and negative impact of social media platforms on individuals and on society.

In recent times, the use of social media platforms has increased rapidly due to technological advancements. As a result of that, these applications are an essential part of everyone's life. There is no doubt that such applications have both positive and negative impacts, not only on individuals but also on society. This essay will explore two main positive and negative impacts, both on a person and on the community.

To begin with, social media platforms can provide an employment opportunity. In other words, companies can share vacancies and internship-related posts on various social media platforms, such as Internsala, Nokari.com and many other platforms, which can be beneficial to job seekers. A report that was published by Time of India by surveying 300+ companies depicts that more than 65% of graduates get their first job through LinkedIn. Apart from this, social media platforms contribute to globalization. To clarify, one can make online friends from other countries and learn about their culture, traditions, and festivals. For instance, Indian traditional attire has been replaced by western clothing, such as jeans and t-shirts.

Moving on to the negative impacts, firstly, individuals may lose their concentration in work and suffer from mental stress. On top of this, if a person spends more than 2 hours on social media platforms, such as Instagram, Facebook and Twitter, he will become an anti-social person. According to a report submitted by AIIMS Delhi, if a healthy human being overspends his time on social media platforms regularly, he may lose his eye sight. Last but not least, social media posts that reveal negative and unwanted information can influence the community in the wrong direction. To be more precise, the government of India has banned many uses of Twitter that try to create religious controversies.

In conclusion, it is undeniable fact that social media platforms have a significant positive impact on individuals and society because they provide job opportunities to many people and make a contribution to create a modern society. However, people may get addicted to these platforms which leads to frustration, and the community may be misguided by the false information available on these platforms.