At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, in some nations, the number of the young is higher than that of the old. From my perspective, this brings some benefits to these countries in terms of economy and society.

First of all, a developed economy is the most significant advantage that young people can offer to their country. To explain, those young ones who are full of energy and enthusiasm will contribute a great deal of profits to both companies and nations through working diligently to increase high productivity, whereas the elderly, due to the ageing process, can easily be absent-minded and face some health issues while dealing with the heavy workload. Moreover, with a skilled workforce, corporations would have a chance to produce extra goods, which makes them capable of expanding their businesses and trades in a global market. As a result, the development of each organization will generate additional government revenues to overcome the financial difficulties of the country.

Besides the economy, a large young population could help to tackle social problems. For one thing, the fewer elderly people are, the less fund needed to cater for them. Taxes from the public are spent on the needs of old people, and authorities have the responsibility for providing free healthcare systems and also shelters. Hence, if there is a high proportion of them, benefits may not be offered to all. Consequently, economic stagnation is inevitable since there will not be enough money to invest in other fields such as industry, science and education. This also causes the young generation to be under pressure since they have to support a great number of elders.

In conclusion, it seems true that the positives provided by this phenomenon outweigh the negatives in terms of the economic and social aspects.