Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic:

Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Employers often choose to award extra-ordinary employees for their remarkable performance and contribution to the company. Often times such award are monetory rather than acknowledgement. Such management approach, although effective for some times, become unproductive toward the end.

Monetary compensation is often welcome by any workers of any kind. But if the boss is praising them by using money, then it may fall short in the eye of workers in short time; specially if the staff are paid monthly. Some personnel may choose to over work and exhaust themselves for recognition. Others may simply lag behind in work time and set a illusion of over work just to catch the eye of management. Such behaviour will definately bring more harm to the business.

Setting up work time limit or sell number limit will genorously regulate the work flow within the workers. Recognising the best contributor as "The Employee of the Month'' should motivate them. An all-paid three day vacation or a special parking spot for the best worker will make give their best. It can be confirmed that paid vacation days encourage the workers more than any hard cash gifts. Extending of contract or a promise of a permanent job will surely insipire the part-time employee to be serious about his job.

In any case the HR department plays a vital role to make sure every personnel are well taken care of. Ensuring payment of wages together with the health and mental benefit will go a long way and make some loyal employees.