Pressure on the school and university students is increasing and students are pushed to
hard work when they are young. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?
It is irrefutable that the burden on school and university pupils is burgeoning and they have
to work very hard at a young age. This situation has both positive and negative effects. A
balance needs to be created in which parents and teachers have a big role. In the following
paragraphs, I shall discuss the issue in depth.
Pressure on students is increasing because of many reasons. Firstly, today we belong to a
highly competitive era. Students need to get good scores to get into a good college. To add
to it, higher education is very costly and students need to do part time work to fund their
education. What is more, sometimes parents push children to adopt those subjects in which
the child has no aptitude. This also creates tension on the mind of the students.
This is a positive development because the habit of working hard right from early years
makes them realise the dignity of labour and they are better placed in life later on.
Secondly, they do not indulge in any violence and crime and drugs. This is because they
don’t have time for such activities. Finally, if they work hard in early years they will develop
a sound career and will have a happy and contented later life.
It is a negative development because it leads to stress and strain. Sometimes, students
cannot strike a balance between work and leisure which may result in boredom. Secondly,
when students face failures or can’t cope with the pressures they can have suicidal
tendencies. Students also face stress if they are forced to choose a course against their
wishes.