With the pressure on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (e.g.: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether non-academic subjects should be involved in the school curriculum remains a question of intense debate. While a number of people believed that non-academic issues should be removed from the syllabus so that students can wholly focus on academic ones, others claim that those subject matters are of equal importance to students’ development. I personally agree with the latter idea for a variety of reasons.

Firstly, forcing students on theoretical subjects would create a stressful and uncongenial school environment. Most academic areas seem extremely sophisticated and require great diligence; therefore, eliminating non-academic subjects would bring about a more tedious and exhausting learning atmosphere. As a result, students are easily deprived of their learning interests and lack motivation to make progress, leading to an increasing likelihood of early school drop-out.

Secondly, non-academic fields can be extremely beneficial to children’s development. For instance, physical education can prevent obesity and consequently reduce the risks of various life-threatening diseases such as diabetes, heart attack, hypertension, etc. Arty subjects can promote creativity and develop cognitive skills. Down-to-earth courses such as cookery can equip students with essential life skills that can assist them when tackling various arising circumstances. Conversely, the exclusion of these subjects would raise an unhealthy, uncreative and bookish generation.

Last but not least, not all students have great intellectual abilities to master academic subject areas but may have a knack for sports, cooking, singing, composing or acting. Therefore, by encouraging students into extra-curricular activities, schools can bring about hiden talents for the society.

In conclusion, non-academic subjects are vital not only to children’s success but also their development. For this reason, there should be an incorporation of academic and non-academic ones in the today’s syllabus.