Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sustainable development is a difficult task to most countries. While a number of people say that it is impossible for a country to both thrive successfully and keep the environment unpolluted, I would argue that this target can be achieved if there are some suitable measures.

On the one hand, many people who claim that sustainable development is impossible base their opinion on the fact that to become economically successful, most countries have gone through the process of industrialization. This means that they have exploited their finite natural resources such as coal and oil to run their factories, polluted the air with harmful emissions and contaminated water supplies with hazardous waste. Besides, deforestation will become more widespread and battery farming makes agriculture unsustainable. These human activities not only pollutes the surrounding environment but also contributes to global warming, threatening human’s health and the survival of plant and animal species. For these reasons, many people believe environmental problems have become a full-blown crisis and that no conservation actions can help.

On the other hand, there are still measures that can be taken to tackle this problem, which means that a developing economy and an unpolluted environment can co-exist. For instance, alternative resources such as solar power or wind energy can substitute fossil fuels to produce energy and generate electricity without creating pollution. Governments can invest more in treatment systems so that the emissions and waste that are released contains less toxic substances. They should also place a ban on environment-polluting activities and fine heavy anyone who associates with these behaviours as a deterrent. At the same time, more campaigns and environmental programs can be launched to raise public awareness of this issue.

To conclude, to maintain a thriving economy and a clean environment is an achievable target. However, nations should make great efforts and previse decisions or else the consequences will be unimaginable.