Some believe that students should be taught how to compete while others say that they should be taught to cooperate. What is your opinion?

Whether children should be taught to compete or cooperate with their peers remains a question of intense debate. In my opinion, both competition and cooperation are essential factors to children’s success for a variety of reasons.

On the one hand, fostering a competitive environment can greatly increase children’s efficiency. Without a rival, children usually bear in mind the misconception that they are the most knowledgeable students and that it is unnecessary to make progress. Conversely, when facing competition from others, children will have to make greater attempts to achieve their goals, or else they’ll become failures. Therefore, competition can be a great incentive for children to improve their academic ability. In addition, a competitive environment can significantly build up children’s self-confidence and determination, giving them the readiness to take risks and overcome challenges in their later life.

On the other hand, cooperation is of equal importance during children’s learning process as achieving a target requires joint efforts and mutual assistance. For instance, a scientific discovery is made up of many single tasks which are carried on by each scientist and then pieced together. Moreover, by cooperating with their peers, children will acquire numerous life skills such as communication skills, negotiation skills, problem-solving skills and conflict management skills. What’s more, a cooperative environment can build positive relationships between students, which is extremely important to create a learning community that values diversity.

To conclude, both competition and cooperation are key factors to training children to become productive citizens of society. Therefore, children should learn to discern what circumstances they have to apply these attributes in order to reach the highest levels of success.