The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that Government funds ought to use for preventing health issues and illness from occurring as opposed to focusing on cures and medicine. I completely disagree with this view because some diseases are incurable and need treatment. I believe funding for new medicines should be made a priority.

To begin with, following a healthy lifestyle such as eating the right food, keeping fit and staying in shape is certainly beneficial to health and preventing illness. Nonetheless, there are some diseases that are incurable and occur based on genetics, such as cancer. For example, my uncle led a very active and healthy lifestyle, did not smoke and had a good diet, however, he developed lung cancer when he was 65 years old. Therefore, I hold the view that finding new ways to treat these kinds of illnesses is in need of consistent funding which the government has a responsibility to budget for.

Secondly, In many countries there is desperate need of investment in healthcare especially for the development of new ways to combat serious diseases such as Parkinson’s disease. To illustrate this, in the USA over the past two decades there has been huge advances in the treatment of Parkinson’s with new types of medicine, which was the result of many years of investment by administrations. If the government in other countries had this at the top of their agenda then I believe that many more terrible illnesses could be cured with cutting edge medicine within the next decade.

To conclude, although some argue that Government money needs to be set aside for the prevention of health problems rather than medicine and treatment. I firmly believe that funds need to be used for the treatment of serious diseases and the development of better medicine.