The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?
It is true governments around the world have been working hard
determining the best budget allocation mix between preventing future
and treating current illnesses. Although millions of ill people need
medical treatments now, governments should still prioritize the
preventive avenue over curative one.
The first reason is that this is a more effective way to spend money
on healthcare. First, by focusing on promoting a healthier lifestyle, the
public will be able to take care of themselves instead of relying on
their governments. For example, by building more parks and sports
facilities, people will have places and tools to improve their own
health by exercising. Second, spending money on preventive
approach ensures that current and future citizens will be able to live
longer and happier than did previous generations. If the preventive
approach was not focused enough, future generations would have
the same or even worse living conditions and lifestyles, which
deteriorates their health.
It is also more efficient to spend money enhancing lifestyle. First, as
dieting and active lifestyles come into play, there would be fewer
needs for medical treatments in the future. Therefore, governments
would in turn save the efforts that could have been put on curing
illnesses. In addition, money would also be saved as there would be
fewer cases requiring medical treatments. The money saved would be
spent on improving the quality of hospitals and clinics, enhancing
public health even more.
In conclusion, it is more effective and efficient in the long run to
focus on preventive approach. This benefits not only the
governments but also the citizens’ health.