Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree.

It is true that prison is a general solution of dealing with crime. However some people believe that the more effective way is to provide better education for citizens. I disagree with this opinion.

On the one side, it is obvious that prison is such an effective way to cope with crime as a whole. Firstly, a policy of zero tolerance definitely

helps to deter a large numbers of criminals with tough punishment. For example, in some countries, murderers have to serve a long prison sentence or even be sentenced to capital punishment which would raise people‟s awareness of serious consequence of committing crime. Secondly, offenders who are in prison do not have ability to harm the society. As a result, innocent people will feel more safer, and can completely concentrate on their work.

On the other side, education is also a factor contributing to the effort of reducing crime. Students who have full perception of legislation are not prone to fall fouls of the law. For example youngsters who participate in some course of driving laws in school would understand the importance of safety in driving more thoroughly. Furthermore, education in prison is an alternative/ effective way to help criminal reintegrate back into society after serving prison sentences. They, therefore, will be given a chance of rehabilitation to embark on something fresh, and avoid the risk of making mistakes again in the future.

In conclusion, I disagree that education is better than prison in solving the problem of crime. However, both solutions have their own advantages and they are equally important.