Prison is a common way in most country to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree.

It is argued that the decrease in the crime rate will be achieved more radically through better education rather than prison sentences. I disagree with this point of view, because I believe that both approaches have their own unique merits and should each perform an integral role in tackling crime.

On the one hand, I would argue that incarceration is a rational way in dealing with offenders. One reason is that a person who commits a crime must learn that unlawful actions will result in serious consequences. Murderers, for instance, must be imprisoned for a long period of time and such a punishment would act as a deterrent. They know that they will no longer be able to get a chance of freedom, and facing social isolation, separation from their beloved ones if they carry out such a criminal act. Besides, when dangerous offenders are behind the bars, they are no longer a peril to society and people can enjoy their lives more safely.

On the other hand, I also believe that the education provided to students has a complementary role to play. Firstly, in school, students should have better access to the knowledge of law which affect their lives. Having some understanding of law, student are better equipped to avoid situations which may have them involved in crime or becoming a victim. For example, teenage students must be obligated to study the important regulations about driving and road safety. Secondly, in terms of offenders being in prison, educational programmers must aim to provide them with skills and qualifications to find a job when they are given freedom.

To sum up, I totally convinced that prison sentences are one potential method in the fight against crime. And I also strongly disagree that providing education alone is a more effective solution to reduce the crime rate.