The professional workers such as doctors, nurses and teachers should be paid more than sports and entertainment stars or personalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals opine that people pursuing highly qualified careers should receive higher pay than those who work in the sports and entertainment sector. I completely disagree with this viewpoint, and my reasons would be explored below.

Without doubt, people working in the medical and educational sector make a considerable contribution to society; however, it is undeniable that sports and entertaining public figures not only establish the reputation but also act as an economic catalyst for local society. Take Korea, the country is renowned for its prosperous entertainment industry as an example. When Korean idols organize international fan meetings, they can attract influxes of followers to partake in. This will drastically boost the domestic economy, namely the consumption of hotels and concert tickets.

Secondly, being an athletic or entertaining celebrity is a demanding job, and they are obliged to sacrifice a lot. Athletes normally have to abide by intensive training schedules and strict diets that almost ordinary people cannot follow. Moreover, public figures do not have their personal privacy, as they are always subject to public scrutiny. These kinds of work are as strenuous and intense as treating patients or imparting knowledge to students. Thus, they deserve to be considered as highly remunerative jobs.

My final argument is that the career span of individuals working in the sports and entertainment field is comparatively short. They generally start their career path at an early age but retire in their early middle age. In contrast, other professional workers tend to have a more guaranteed job because their retirement age is firmly imposed in governmental law. Thus, sportspeople and recreating stars are entitled to be highly paid, which will help them ensure an adequate life after their retirement.

In conclusion, I would argue that athletes and entertainment celebrities equally deserve an equivalent payment compared to other professionals working in the medical and educational field.