Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true this statement? How far colours influence people's health and capacity for work?

It has been known by psychologists for years that shades or concepts of colors can strongly reflect the way people feel. That is the reason why people would put so much effort into picking out appropriate color schemes when it comes to decorating offices or public places. From my perspective, it is absolutely true that colors have such a huge impact on human beings. Surely, people’s health or our capacity for work would be one of the fields that are greatly affected by colors.

First and foremost, color is a key catalyst in the workspace. Most workplaces are decorated with monochromatic coloring which limits bright colors and instead use quiet, subtle shades to make the environment feel more relaxing after a long day of work. Plants are commonly utilized to provide the area with some greenery and to act as a nice sight after a day of staring at a computer screen. Some large companies such as Google adopt a different scheme: they try to color their workplaces with very vibrant and bright colors. This is done in an effort to bolster the staff’s creativity and energy as Google often employs some of the brightest minds there is on the planet. Moreover, color has a very tight relationship with the meaning of the company. Since most registered businesses have their own logo which has a unique color scheme, executives often use that color scheme to decorate the workspace and link ideas and values of the company to the colors they use. It has the supposed effect of making staff more loyal and willing to contribute to the company.

In addition, color likewise plays an indispensable role in hospitals. Imagine color does not exist in hospitals, patients will get dull and bored, and doctors will also share this uncomfortable emotion. This would have a bad effect on the recovery for patients and efficiency for doctors and nurses. Thus, unfortunately, mental trauma could become a problem in this situation. However, color should be appropriate for a particular case. For example, children or patients with visual problems need color for their recovery. Visual-problem patients could benefit by looking around to ensure their eyesight, or the children could get entertained with colorful and or vibrant things such as books, toys, etc. In contrast, in some hospitals where people prefer relaxation rather than entertainment, light colors such as blue or white are welcome.

In conclusion, colours not only play an important role for each person, but it also helps humans have more energy, creativity and breakthrough ideas. Therefore, when choosing colors for the office, it is necessary to ensure that it does not adversely affect the emotions of employees. Moreover, colours almost determine patient emotions, especially bright colours that help them recover faster.